Blog Post Suzanne Dixon Jun 28, 2012

San Antonio Missions Nominated for Prestigious International Recognition

Earlier this month, Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar had a difficult decision to make. Each year, the Department of the Interior can officially nominate just two sites to be recognized as World Heritage Sites by the World Heritage Center (part of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, or UNESCO). NPCA is pleased that Salazar officially authorized the San Antonio Franciscan Missions for the nomination this year. This site includes the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park as well as the Mission San Antonio de Valero, better known as the Alamo.

What does this mean? If chosen in 2014, this site would be one of just over 20 in the United States and 900 in the world recognized as having “outstanding universal value.” Currently, the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, and the Statue of Liberty enjoy this prestigious distinction—but there are no World Heritage Sites in great state of Texas. Yet.

In April 2012, members of NPCA’s Texas Regional Office, Los Compadres de San Antonio, San Antonio River Authority, Bexar County, San Antonio Conservation Society, and the Daughters of the Republic of Texas supported the process by cosponsoring a meeting of international experts from Spain, Mexico, Canada, and the United States to help strengthen the nomination for the San Antonio Franciscan Missions. NPCA has continued to support the process because ultimately, if chosen, the distinction could mean additional international tourism for the site, as well as renewed zeal for protecting the historic park. The World Heritage Center is one of the most widely recognized preservation programs in history, providing support and raising public awareness about the importance of these outstanding places around the globe.

The San Antonio Franciscan Missions preserve the largest intact concentration of Spanish Colonial buildings in the United States today, including exquisite mission churches with their Romanesque, Moorish, and Spanish baroque designs, dating as far back as 1720. All four of the mission churches—San Jose, Concepcion, San Juan, and Espada—are still active Catholic parishes and churches.

More than 1.7 million people visit San Antonio Franciscan Missions each year. NPCA hopes international recognition could make that public interest even stronger.

About the author

Read more from NPCA

  • Blog Post

    FAQs: Protecting America’s Legacy Campaign

    May 2024 | By Lam Ho, Linda Coutant

    NPCA recently launched a $300 million Protecting America’s Legacy campaign. Here’s everything you need to know to be informed and engaged with this fundraising initiative.

  • Blog Post

    Proposed Management Plan for Bears Ears Makes History

    May 2024 | By Cory MacNulty

    NPCA supports a historic plan for Utah's Bears Ears National Monument that enables collaborative management with Tribes and helps connect national park landscapes. Public support is needed to make it…

  • Blog Post

    5 Reasons the Rim of the Valley Should Be Protected

    May 2024 | By Alana Garibaldi

    National Parks Conservation Association and Nature Valley are working together to protect places in nature for everyone to enjoy – including land that comprises the Rim of the Valley in…