Alexander Hamilton's house, named "The Grange" after his family's ancestral home in Scotland, was the New York City home of Hamilton from 1802-1804. Today his home is preserved as a memorial to Hamilton's important contributions as the first United States Secretary of the Treasury, a Founding Father, economist, and political philosopher.
Built as a countryside estate with sweeping prospects on all four sides, the Grange was moved several times as New York City grew up around it. The Grange's first move was in 1889 when it was moved from its original site on W. 143rd Street to 287 Convent Avenue, to make way for construction of city streets.
In June 2008, the house was on the move yet again. The National Park Service relocated the house to St. Nicholas Park to allow the exterior and interior of the home to be restored to its former splendor. St. Nicholas Park is a part of Hamilton's original 34 acre estate, so this is a fitting location. This is the third and final location of the home Hamilton helped design and which he called his "sweet project."
—Source, National Park Service
NPCA at Work in the Parks
NPCA's Northeast Regional Office was instrumental in working with the New York City's congressional delegation to secure the funding to move and renovate the historic home. In 2008, a team of movers carefully slid the 300-ton structure about 300 feet down a street, around a corner, and down a slope to the home's original woodland plot in St. Nicholas Park, using a system of hydraulic jacks, dollies, and pulleys. The home reopened in 2011 and visitors can now enjoy the original bucolic setting, a restored interior, a rebuilt basement and porch, and a wealth of information on Hamilton's legacy.