National Parks Second Century Commission Members

Howard H. Baker, Jr.
Former U.S. Senator (Republican, Tennessee)

J. Bennett Johnston
Former U.S. Senator (Democrat, Louisiana)

Linda Bilmes
Lecturer in Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University
Former Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer
U.S. Department of Commerce

James J. Blanchard
Former Governor of Michigan
Former U.S. Representative (Democrat, Michigan)
Former U.S. Ambassador to Canada

Milton Chen
Executive Director
The George Lucas Educational Foundation

Rita Colwell
Distinguished University Professor
The University of Maryland, College Park
Former Director
National Science Foundation

Sylvia Earle
National Geographic Society
Co-Founder and Chair
Deep Ocean Exploration & Research, Inc.
Former Chief Scientist
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

John Fahey
President and Chief Executive Officer
National Geographic Society

Belinda Faustinos
Executive Officer
San Gabriel & Lower Los Angeles Rivers & Mountains Conservancy

Victor Fazio, Jr.
Former U.S. Representative (Democrat, California)
Former California State Assemblyman

Carolyn Finney
Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
University of California, Berkeley

Denis P. Galvin
Former Deputy Director
National Park Service

Maria Hinojosa
Senior Correspondent, NOW on PBS
Public Broadcasting Service
Host, Managing Editor, Latino USA
National Public Radio

Sally Jewell
President and Chief Executive Officer
Recreational Equipment, Inc.

Tony Knowles
Former Governor of Alaska
Former Mayor of Anchorage
Former Chair
Western Governors’ Association

Stephen H. Lockhart
Chairman of the Board
Regional Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
Sutter Health

Gretchen Long
Trustee and former Chair
National Parks Conservation Association
Land Trust Alliance

James McPherson
George Henry Davis 1886 Professor of American History Emeritus
Princeton University

Gary B. Nash
Professor Emeritus, Department of History
University of California, Los Angeles

Sandra Day O’Connor
Associate Justice (Retired)
The Supreme Court of the United States

Jerry L. Rogers
Former Associate Director for Cultural Resources and Keeper of the National Register of Historic Places
National Park Service

Peter M. Senge
Senior Lecturer, Sloan School of Management
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Founding Chair
Society for Organizational Learning

DeborahA. Shanley
Dean, Brooklyn College School of Education
City University of New York

W. Richard West, Jr.
Founding Director
National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institution

Margaret Wheatley
Author and consultant on leadership and healthy communities
Co-Founder and President Emerita
Berkana Institute

E. O. Wilson
Pellegrino University Professor Emeritus
Harvard University

Loran Fraser
Executive Director

Rosemary Peternel
Senior Program Coordinator


Want to learn more about the  ?

The   can be seen in the wild in America’s national parks. Why not join the National Parks Conservation Association community to protect and preserve our national parks?

Sign up to protect parks in   & other states

Why not join the National Parks Conservation Association Community to protect and preserve our national parks?

Sign up to protect   and other National Parks

Why not join the National Parks Conservation Association Community to protect and preserve our national parks?

Please leave this field empty
Yes, please sign me up for NPCA’s newsletter and other emails about protecting our national parks!

National Parks Conservation Association
National Parks Conservation Association

Log In

Or log in with your connected Facebook or Twitter account:


Welcome to our growing community of park advocates. Thanks for signing up!

Sign Up:

Or sign up by connecting your Facebook or Twitter account: