Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Carved into the Black Hills of South Dakota are the iconic faces of four former presidents of the United States--George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. These men were chosen to represent the first 150 years of American history and America’s cultural heritage.  The idea came from Doane Robinson to promote tourism in South Dakota and his idea was wildly successful--the park attracts almost 3 million park visitors every year.  Not everyone was pleased with the decision to carve four American presidents on a mountain that held spiritual significance for the Lakota tribe. In response, a memorial to Crazy Horse is being carved in the Black Hills 17 miles away from Mount Rushmore.

State: South Dakota

NPCA Region: Midwest Regional Office

Acreage: 1,278.45

Category: National Memorial

Established: 03/03/1925

Read More on Full Website >

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software